The Rose Bowl Awards aim to encourage excellence in the amateur theatre within the South West of England by providing a forum in which performers, directors and technicians alike can aspire to high standards of achievement commensurate with their professional counterparts.

The Awards, presented annually since 1963 and described as the ‘Oscars of the South West’ for the amateur stage, are open to any amateur dramatic or operatic club in Bristol and surrounding area including Devon, Gloucestershire, Somerset and Wiltshire. Award winners are nominated by a panel of adjudicators who are chosen for their extensive qualifications and experience in the amateur and professional theatre, either through performing or teaching.

Nominations for the 18 Award categories are announced in August and the winners are presented with an engraved crystal Rose Bowl at the Awards ceremony in October, attended by over 400 representatives of Clubs entering for an Award.


How To Enter

The Rose Bowl awards competition is open to any amateur dramatic or operatic club in the area 30 miles north, east and west and 80 miles south of Bristol.

To enter for an Award, download and complete the application form (application formand send it to the Secretary Jean Harding, 11A Hill Road, Clevedon, North Somerset BS21 7NE together with a cheque for the entry fee of £45 made payable to ‘The Rose Bowl Awards’. Please note that the entry fee must be paid at least one month prior to the performance for which an adjudicator is required.

All entries for the October Awards cycle must be completed and lodged with the Secretary by 30thJune with the performances scheduled between 1st August of previous year and 31st July of the current year.

Once an application has been entered, further details will be sent regarding the Awards ceremony in October.

Timetable for 2013 Awards

1st August 2012 – 31st July 2013: Performances adjudicated (see ‘how to enter’)

August 2013 Nominations announced

October 2013 Winners announced at Awards Ceremony, date to be advised


For further information about applying for an Award, please contact Jean Harding on 01275 874432.